Watermelon Party for my Watermelon lovin’ girl…

Standard

While it would make perfect sense, I didn’t want a Disney Princess party for our little Princess’ 3 rd birthday. She doesn’t even know that section of the party supply store exists. If she did, I’d never hear the end of it. “I just LOVE Wapunzel, Momma! Seepin’ Boody! Air-wee-ul! I want a PWINCESS Party!”

Not that there’s anything wrong with it–she runs around the house in dress-up clothes and heels, multiple times and combinations of accessories a day, mind you–but, selfishly, I had my own plan, and if you know my Princess, you know it’s hard to change her mind when it’s made up. Instead, I opted to sneakily convince her that my plan was her plan…and it worked!

Nothing celebrates summertime like watermelon. I grew up eating it with my Daddy, perched on the armrest of his La-Z-Boy, one yummy bite at at time. That’s when my plan came together.

All it took was to show her a picture of a watermelon cake. After that, she was telling everyone she knew that we were having a Watermelon Party. It seemed like a fitting beginning-of-the-summer party idea.

I love DIY decorating and repurposing everyday things for pennies, so that certainly played a big part in the preparations! I had a hard time finding ideas on Watermelon stuff, so I had to get creative.

Here are a few of my moments of inspiration. Hope you can use them to enjoy SUMMERTIME!

Watermelon Door Decor:

I simply:

  • Spray painted a paper grocery bag red.
  • Cut it out in a Watermelon shape–front and back pieces– with pinking shears.
  • Sponge painted the green and white around the edges.
  • Sewed the two pieces together.
  • Stuffed them with plastic shopping bags that had accumulated,
  • Punched holes to hang from
  • Reinforced the holes with clear tape.
  • Made a hanger with wire.
  • Glued some black buttons on for seeds.
  • Tied a bow for extra flair.

Whew! Done!

Watermelon Garland:

We spent an afternoon while recuperating from Strep throat making these little guys. Paper plates are so stinkin’ cheap. I spent maybe $3 on this whole project, and I had many strands throughout the house! Now, they’re all hanging in the birthday girl’s room…a multi-functional project!

Simply:

  • Sponge paint accordingly.
  • Cut the plates in half
  • Draw on seeds with a marker.
  • Glue to a string or ribbon to hang.

LOVE IT!

Tissue Paper Flowers:

Ever since I saw this tutorial, I wanted to try it. How easy! With a $2.99 pack of tissue paper (remember your 40% Hobby Lobby coupon for even more savings), I had enough supplies to make a dozen flowers–not that I did, I just needed 5 or so. They turned out almost as pretty as the oringinal.

Hint: These are spray-painted. More versatile that way.

They’re are also in her room, above her bed now. Let’s see how long it takes for her brother to attack them with a light saber…

 

I know I had a great time getting ready to celebrate my sweet girl’s big day, and I hope that one day she’ll recall the summer afternoon she spent at her Watermelon Party.

5 responses »

  1. Such a wonderful day! All the decorations were so sweet and the cake was wonderful! Loved all the watermelon ideas. Not surprising coming from the original “watermelon girl”!

    • Hmmmm, not sure about that. I’ll ask my handy-dandy-computer-genius-hubby about that when he gets home. Are you able to see ANY of my posts? Or is the issue with just the Watermelon one? Thanks for at least TRYING to check out my posts!

Leave a Reply

